Explore my Journey with me!

Beginning the Journey

Hello Everyone!

I’m so glad to have you with me as I take this journey from, you guessed it, De Pere to seminary. I hope you will continue this journey along with me and celebrate the good times and provide strength and encouragement through the hard times. And of course, keep me in your prayers often. I will definitely need all the people backing me I can get! I hope this blog will be informative, comforting, inspirational and, most of all, a lot of fun for everyone involved.

At this time I would like to thank the wonderful people in my life who have helped to make this journey a reality. Each and every person I have come in contact with has affected me in some way. I am truly humbled by everyone’s encouragement in this decision to become a Lutheran Pastor.May God continue to work through the people in my life to help guide me and teach me to lead his people in faith.

My parents, who have always been there for me and supported me. They have encouraged me always to make my own decisions and follow my dreams. For nearly twenty-four years they have helped to raise me up in a loving, faithful environment. I don’t mean to brag, but they seem to have done a pretty good job of it. When times are hard, they are always there with me. It seems unreal that I will be moving out from their roof for the first time in a month and a half. They are such wonderful people, and I hope this transition isn’t too hard on either of them.

My brother Jim, who daily inspires me by his positive, can-do attitude and caring nature to make the best out of my life. He has been not only my brother, but my dear friend, mentor, and all around go-to guy for as long as I can remember. When I’m feeling down, he’s there to comfort me. When I’m proud of something, he’s there to celebrate it with me. And when I feel alone or unwanted, he’s always there to tell me he loves me. I couldn’t have asked for a better brother, and I sincerely hope he knows just how much he means to me.

The rest of my family; my aunts and uncles, cousins, grandparents and extended family members. I have been so blessed by your presence in my life. You have been there for me through thick and thin. I would not be able to take this next step in my life without all of your encouragement and support. It pains me to have to move so far away in order to follow this call, but a part of you will always be with me in my heart. I could never have continued on this path without your backing.

To my eclectic assortment of friends. Whether from school, work, scouts or somewhere else, this ever-growing group of people is always there to encourage me in my dreams and make possibilities into realities. No matter what I need, there’s always someone out there in this wonderful network of people that can help me to achieve it. I hope to continue growing this group, but sincerely hope no one fades from it. Distance may be an obstacle, but I want you to know that I will never forget you in my thoughts and prayers. Thank you for all that you have done and continue to do.

To the loving Congregation at St. John Lutheran Church in De Pere, Wisconsin. There are so many wonderful people in this second family of mine. Some I know better than others, but God’s amazing power has brought us all together for a single purpose; to share God’s love with others. I hope to take this love that I have come to know and share it with everyone I meet. The people of St. John have done so much to help nurture my faith, answer my questions, help to give me the tools necessary to follow this path.

Finally, I must thank God. For believing in me, for loving me, and for choosing to give me this call. I sincerely hope to do all that I can to justify that decision. It is no secret that I would not be here without God’s amazing grace. I hope anyone reading this knows just how powerful and wonderful a gift that is.

I guess that’s all I have for now. I hope to keep this going, posting regularly through this process and seeking guidance from others along the way. Any helpful suggestions or words of encouragement are greatly appreciated. God Bless!

Comments on: "Beginning the Journey" (1)

  1. Carlyn Cooper said:

    Paul, you brought tears to my eyes. You are one great guy, and I think of all the fun times we had in church, being our valentine, first Communion, and SS.
    And yes, you are loved by a lot of people, me being one of them. Go with God Paul.
    Shalo9m
    Carlyn

Leave a Reply

