Explore my Journey with me!

Some light reading

A couple of days ago, I received a reading list from Wartburg with a couple required and a couple recommended books to read before school. The first required text is, no surprise here, the Bible. Second required, quite logically, is Luther’s “Large Catechism”. The two recommended texts are Stone & Duke’s, How to Think Theologically and Jacobson and Aageson’s, The Future of Lutheranism in a Global Context. I’ve already read the Bible (yay) and plan on reading it again. However I figured I should start working on the others, so I purchased them from Amazon for my kindle (another yay) and saved quite a bit of money on e-books rather than paper versions(can I get a third?) which is nice. Best of all, buying an e-version means I don’t have to worry about damaging the book, having pages fall out, or lending it to a friend who forgets to return it (you can lend e-books though, who knew?)

In any case, I started reading my first choice How to Think Theologically before spending some much needed relaxation time with my good friend Mara. It seems quite interesting at this point, so I feel encouraged to continue. Now if I could just win the lottery I would be able to completely focus on my studies. Alas, I doubt the winning Powerball numbers are in my future. Then again, several people at Festival have told me they’d pay for Seminary if they won, so I guess that increases the odds slightly. Either way God will provide, so I try not to worry too much over money. Not that I would turn down free money if someone did happen to win the Powerball and wanted to share with me.

The whole idea of going to school hit home a little more today while reading the first book. All of a sudden I realized, “holy cow! I’m studying to be a Pastor! This is really happening!” Unfortunately, that revelation interruption required me to re-read the paragraph I had just read. Still, these bursts of realization that my life is going to be changing drastically seem to be coming more frequently now that the days are progressing. Before you know it, I’ll be saying goodbye and then saying hello, packing and then unpacking. Meeting new friends, and remembering dear old ones. I’m getting a bit misty-eyed just thinking about it.

Other than that, I really don’t have too much to add to today’s update. The day is, at least for me, still long from being done, so I should find something productive to do. I suppose I should clean up a bit around the house and continue my studies. Then again, sleep does sound quite enticing… I think I’ll go with a compromise and throw laundry in the washer and nap while it cycles through. I can do this, I know I can!

Thanks to anyone reading! God Bless!

Comments on: "Some light reading" (1)

  1. Carlyn Cooper said:

    Hi Paul, Pastor Arnie let me read his Large Catechism while he was here, and I found it fascinating. Deep, not to be read in one sitting, but deep.
    Shalom

Leave a Reply

