Explore my Journey with me!

Heat Wave!

Whew is it ever HOT outside today! On days like today I thank God for modern inventions like air conditioning, refrigerators, and ice cream. Especially ice cream.

Yet while thinking about the heat, sitting in my lovely air-conditioned house, grabbing a bit of ice cream from my refrigerator, I thought of how hot it must have gotten for people in Jesus’ time. Even now, there are so many people that don’t have the luxury items most Americans have. The thought that we take for granted so much in our lives and still manage to find things to complain about saddens me deeply. I have to wonder if these inventions are really helping us at all. We complain about a little heat, yet there are people out there that die from heat stroke, dehydration, starvation, etc. every day that never mutter a word about it.

How spoiled have we become that instead of using this warmth to remind us of the hardships others endure, we gripe to one another on our way from the cool airs of one place to another? And believe me, the griping won’t stop there. At the end of the month when that electricity bill comes, there will be a whole new slew of complaints on how expensive it is to keep the house comfortable. Meanwhile there are others out there who are suffering through the heat that don’t even have enough money to provide food for their families.

I look around my house, with 1.5 baths, three bedrooms, a full kitchen and living room, and can’t help but feel guilty. I feel guilty because I know that when I come home every day, I don’t usually take the time to thank God for a roof over my head. I don’t wake up in the morning and thank God for a safe and peaceful sleep. I eat food when I’m hungry and drink clean water when I’m thirsty without thinking that others cannot. Money and luxury, and believe me there are others out there that have a whole lot more than I do, have created a void between me and God. All this extra “stuff” has scarred my life by teaching me to take for granted all that I have been so fortunate to receive. All that I have because God loves me.

I don’t mean to be so down and depressing with this post, but it honestly angered me that I could live such a great life and not recognize the distance between me and some of my brothers and sisters out there who live each day not knowing if they’ll make it through another hungry night or scorching day.

So here’s the positive side of this post. I want those who have read up to this point to consider their own lives. Stop what you are doing and pray with me to God, thanking him for all he has provided for us. Then I want you to think about how you can remind yourself on a daily basis to see the good in life, to recognize the positive. Lastly, I want you to think of how you can make someone else’s life who is less fortunate even a little better.

Right now I’m going over to that thermostat and turning it up a couple of degrees to save some money. Once I get done with that I’m going to go through my clothes, see if there’s anything I can donate. And then finally I’m going to go on a good, long (most likely sweat-drenched) scenic walk to the De Pere Christian Outreach Center to bring my donations and praise God with prayer on the way there and back. Let me know what you decide to do.

God Bless!

Comments on: "Heat Wave!" (1)

  1. Carlyn Cooper said:

    Right on Paul!!! Somehow we just seem to “forget” that all we have is a gift from God. To God be the glory and none of my own.

Leave a Reply

