Explore my Journey with me!

Happy Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s day to all the dads, grandpas, and great-grandpas out there! Today is a day to celebrate the men who mean so much to us. It’s nice to have a day to emphasize these important men for us to remember and celebrate the hard work and love they demonstrate. Yet we don’t have to wait until Father’s day to celebrate how much our fathers mean to us. Each day should remind us that we are here because of our father. We are who we are because of the impact he has made in our life.

If you’re getting a connection to God in those statements, then good. It was intentional. If not, try reading them over again, this time with God in your mind. Go ahead, I’ll still be here when you’re done.

It made me really happy today when I realized that I had more than one Father figure in my life to celebrate. More than that, I have two Fathers I can celebrate every day. When I think of all the amazing opportunities both of my fathers have given me, I feel perhaps unworthy of it all. I don’t deserve the unconditional love and compassion that I have received, both when I try my best to better myself, as well as those times when I rebel or fail to think about my actions. How can not one, but two fathers love me so much despite my shortcomings?

With my dad, Rick, I think it’s partially because I’m a part of him, a continuation of his existence. The other part is…maybe… because I’m not perfect and neither is he. In accepting my faults, he’s accepting his faults as well. In acknowledging the frustrations I have no doubt caused over the years (though I hope they have seriously dwindled in size and frequency) he is simultaneously acknowledging the frustrations he himself caused his father. When you think about it, it’s actually kind of cool. Sort of comforting.

But what about God? Why does he care so much for us and continually provide reasons to celebrate in our daily lives? I always turn to the same phrase with this question. “saved by grace through faith.” Ephesians 2:8 words it beautifully by stating 8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— “

Being saved by grace through faith is such a wonderful concept. It means we don’t have to be perfect in order to be loved. (which, incidentally is a good thing, since we as humans are naturally flawed) We can falter in our lives and God won’t reject us and cut us out of His life. Just like my dad wouldn’t reject me if I screwed up. It means we, I, you, can be completely true to our-, my-, your-self and still be loved. We don’t have to change who we are. We just have to remember That it is our Father in heaven who grants us life and saves us with grace through faith. I think that deserves and Amen!

Thanks for sharing these thoughts with me. I hope they change the way you view this day. God Bless!

Leave a Reply

