Explore my Journey with me!

VBS: A success

Hello There! I know it has been a while (a whole week!) but my absence has been for a good reason. Rather than sit here at my computer and talk about doing God’s work, I was participating each day in doing God’s work. For the past week I have been helping out with my Church’s Vacation Bible School. PandaMania at St. John’s was truly an amazing experience. Now that the week is over, I have some time to share some of the wonderful lessons I have learned from these children of God.

First, let me just say that before this experience I was absolutely terrified of working with little kids. I had never really had that experience before, so the thought of being in charge of not only their safety, but also their faith seemed to me to be a scary, heart-stopping unknown. After this past week, however, I am happy to say that I had an absolute blast working with the children, listening to their open-hearted professions of love and faith in God. I also learned one must always be on their A-game in order to field the questions and insights of these little ones. They sure do have a lot of questions and, thankfully, they aren’t afraid to ask them.

Each day of VBS, I was in charge of showing that day’s portion of the movie “The mystery of the missing pandas” and working with the kids to draw or write their God sightings for the day. While the movie part had some glitches (two dvd players that didn’t work, lack of time etc.) the God sightings were always a wonderful experience. The kids and their crew leaders did an amazing job to show how they saw God in their lives each day. One child always drew a picture of her mom; something the other kids in her crew didn’t necessarily understand. Yet I had to tell her mom that each and every day of VBS, she reminded her daughter of God’s gifts to us. I just felt I had to share that with her, because I wanted her to know what a positive impact she had in her daughter’s life and connection with God.

In addition to the movie and God sightings, the kids also learned bible stories connected with each day’s bible message, played games, worked on crafts, and sang praise to God above. If each member of the congregation sang as loudly as those kids did each day, I think the church would have to put in a new roof. That, and people would be able to hear us on the other side of the river. My only regret is that I couldn’t be with the kids throughout the whole day to see what they were up to in the other classes. I did get to see the amazing whale they were going to sit in on Thursday. I’m still trying to see if I can make one of my own for my room downstairs.

When Friday came, I couldn’t help but feel a certain level of sadness. I knew it was the last day of VBS and I didn’t want it to end so soon after it had started. I know there will be more Vacation Bible School weeks ahead in my future, but I still wanted to keep going with these kids. I felt that they still had so much to teach me about my faith and journey. Each day confirmed for me that I am on the right path in life. It didn’t matter how tired or stressed I was from work, because once I got there and started working with the children, I always felt so energized and ready to take on any challenge. In fact the kids energized me so much I found it hard to sleep afterwards because I was still so full of energy! That, and I couldn’t get the words and actions of the songs out of my head. I can’t tell you how many times I woke up in the middle of the night, pumping my fists and saying “Thank You God!” and then thinking “now please let me sleep!”

I truly hope that both the kids and I remember each and every day to look for God sightings and share them with others. I think the idea of putting all the God sightings from VBS into a quilt is an amazing idea, and I can’t wait to see the end result. Hopefully it will serve as a daily reminder for everyone who sees it that God is always present in our lives, and loves us no matter what.

Finally, I would just like to share the bible points from each day of VBS. I feel they are extremely important to remember each day, so I hope any readers will look back once in a while to remember them. I know I will!

God made you!

God listens to you!

God sees you!

God loves you no matter what!

God gives good gifts!

 

THANK YOU, GOD!!!

Comments on: "VBS: A success" (1)

  1. Carlyn Cooper said:

    Hi Paul. Thank you God!!!! Yes in deed. You will find that as you get used to working with young kids, you will find them very refreshing. YOu found out that they tell it like it is and are not afraid to express their love for Jesus and His gifts. I always told the 4 year olds, that God created a special place inside of them, called creativity and no one could ever take that away from them. It is a gift from God. Their own special gift. That comes under God made you!! Thank you for posting the 5 things. I couldn’t remember all five.
    Just remember not to talk literaly to them. They always take it that way. A Grandma told her young grandaughter to make sure the strawberries she was picking, were all good. When Grandma got the berries in the house, each berry had a bite out of it.
    Shalom
    Carlyn

Leave a Reply

