Explore my Journey with me!

Two Weeks…

Welcome to any new readers! I hope this blog can be a useful resource for staying connected to all my friends and family while I progress along my path towards ordination. Please feel free to comment and, if you enjoy what you read, subscribe to the blog! If you’d like to make a private comment, please feel free to e-mail me at Paul.Johnson1@snc.edu

 

Wow! I can’t believe it’s already July first! It seems like only yesterday I was welcoming in June, and now it’s already come and gone! I guess knowing that it’s July just hits me especially hard because it means I have two weeks left in De Pere, only four shifts left at Festival, and a mere two Sundays left in the area! I feel a sudden urge to pack everything up, and an equally strong urge to put off packing as long as possible. Where did all the time go?

I guess I must be pretty late in this realization, since my friends and family have all been nagging asking me to hang out for over two weeks now. I kept thinking there would be plenty of time to get it all done. Now I’m worrying about how I’m going to get everything done in time. There’s so much to do and I have absolutely no idea where to start.

Which, of course, is not true. I need to start with a big, cleansing breath and a moment of thoughtful prayer. It seems like far too often in my life (and I’m sure this goes for others reading this as well) there seems too much to do and not enough time to do it in. Instead of seeking guidance from God in prayer, the knee-jerk reaction is all too often to stand there and worry about everything. Which, of course, accomplishes nothing. Well, nothing positive at least.

In these next two weeks, I am going to try to focus on Matthew 6:25-27 (click the link to read it, go ahead). Rather than worry about what I’m going to do and how, I’m going to spend my free time praying to God and seeking guidance from Him. Afterall, He’s the one that put me on this path, so if anyone knows what I’m supposed to be doing, I’d go with Him.

Now for anyone reading this, I have a favor to ask of you. When you see me over-ridden with nerves and unsure of what to do (I say when, not if, because I know it’s bound to happen) remind me not to worry. Maybe walk up to me and whisper in my ear “don’t just stand there; pray for guidance!” Believe me, I’m going to need plenty of reminders.

Thanks for reading! As always, God Bless!

Leave a Reply

