Explore my Journey with me!

Hello Again!

Hello again from Dubuque!

I hope this post finds you all well. I know I am having a wonderful time down here. If the weather would cooperate a tad more it’d be absolutely perfect. Not that the weather is horrid, but it seems to be too hot, too humid, too wet or a combination of the above. I must say, however, that the thunder storms for the last two days have been absolutely exquisite! I love the sounds of a good storm at night, and have been quickly lulled to sleep for the last two nights by these storms. Waking up at two in the morning because my whole room is illuminated by lightning is another story. Still, the storms have lowered the temperature to something manageable, so that alone justifies their presence. I can’t wait to see what other meteorological surprises Iowa has in store for me.

Now that Summer Greek looms ever closer and more students are joining the ranks here, I have quickly come to the realization that I am horrible at remembering names. I helped out my neighbor, a pleasant woman also from Wisconsin, move in yesterday, and for the life of me I cannot remember what her name is. I’m thinking it’s Tammy, but I can’t be sure. Horrible, I know. During the Library Orientation yesterday I felt completely helpless as everyone introduced themselves. I did snag some names and manage to retain them, but a fair chunk went in one ear and, despite my best efforts, out the other.However I have a whole year to get their names down. It may take a while, but I’ll get there.

As for my neighbors (and fellow classmates) I can only say positive things. Everyone here seems to be nice and friendly, and not in that awkward “I don’t want to offend anyone” sort of way either. I only hope the others see me the same way. Already there are connections being made and friendships being forged. Movie nights are being planned, and there always seems to be someone around when you need a little help. People I didn’t know until arriving here already feel like close friends or long-lost relatives. The community here at Wartburg is definitely a close-knit group.

As for the more mundane aspects of life, such as laundry, dishes, food prep and of course studying, I can only say that I am starting to get the hang of it. I must give a major shout out to my parents for all the years they had to deal with me and my less than ideal house-keeping skills. Sure I’d go on a cleaning spree from time to time, but my parents made sure there was food on the table (or at least in the fridge and cupboards) dishes were done before the mountain grew too large, and when there was studying to be done they made sure to nag the heck out of me until it was finished. And I do mean “nag” in the nicest way possible. While I’m here, I’ve quickly found that if I don’t do the dishes no one else will, and I have to make sure to motivate myself into studying.

In that regard, I must say I miss everyone back home terribly. Despite the fact that Summer Greek hasn’t even started, I am already looking forward to Christmas time when I will (at least hopefully) be able to return home and enjoy the company of those I have left behind. I don’t want everyone to think I hate it here, or that I’m not happy, because I am. It’s just that I miss all the random events and get togethers that happened in De Pere.

I must say farewell for now, as my laundry is nearing the end of its cycle, but I promise to return before too long with yet another update. I am so ready to worship tomorrow and then begin the encounter with the best that is Summer Greek. Remember to pray for me and keep me in your thoughts as I will be doing the same.

As always,

God Bless!

Comments on: "Hello Again!" (1)

  1. Carlyn Cooper said:

    Hi Paul, glad you caught some rain. My kids in Texas would certainly like some. I enjoyed your insight into the Lord’s Prayer. Isn’t fun when a light bulb turns on in something you have been seeing and saying all your life. God is so full of surprises. If you find a good way to remember names, let me know. I try association, and then have two things I can’t remember, what I associated the name with and the name. I try to concentrate really hard on one or two when I am with new people. Praying that Greek goes well. My great niece has a Greek name, Santheepi, or something like that. Her dad was born in Greece while my brother was stationed in the Navy there. So much for my Greek. Remember that being away from home for real, not just camp, is something that can take some time to get used to. Know that it is hard and just move forward. I have always found that to be the best way. It was funny, when I was in my home town , when I couldn’t attend your dinner, I recognized no one. I have been gone for 53 years. Weird, the people who own it now, painted my parents home a couple of different colors, that Colleen and I couldn’t believe.( Weird sentence I know.) Only my cousins did I recognize. Keeping you in prayer Paul.
    Shalom
    Carlyn

Leave a Reply

