Explore my Journey with me!

It’s all Greek to me!

Well hello there all my lovelies!

It certainly has been a long time since my last post! I do apologize for the suspense, but I’ve been so busy these last two weeks with Greek that I’ve forgotten what it means to have “extra time”. I’ve been studying and baby sitting and looking at flashcards for so long I can’t believe I’ve only been at this for two weeks. Oh, and I should probably mention that I’m absolutely loving it!

I have already learned eight different conjugation charts, and it looks as though I’ll be doubling that number by the end of this third week. We’ve learned the present active, present middle/passive, imperfect active, imperfect middle/passive, The conjugation of “ego” and “eimi” as well. Next week we explore the aorist tenses and future. I must say that at times my eagerness to learn is matched (and perhaps overpowered) by fear and the feeling that I’ll never be able to learn it all in time.

Despite these worries and fears- which most if not all of the other students share- I am still looking at the positive and continue to “give it my all”. I have been told that Pastor Andrea managed to score 100%. I have managed 100% for both of the vocab quizzes and 92 + 94% for the last two exams. It may not be as good as Pastor Andrea, but I have no problem admitting that others may be smarter or more capable of learning other languages than me. Still, as far as the registrar is concerned we currently have the same grade. So she can enjoy being perfect, and I’ll enjoy being “above average”

As for the weekends here-since we are FORBIDDEN to study Greek on the weekends (I still do, but don’t tell anyone!) and MUST have fun-I have been having the time of my life! This weekend I went shopping with my amazing friends (Deb, Kelly and Mary) and managed to escape the shopping fever. I did find a lovely chair for $10 for my room that is, in addition to being extremely comfortable, a great addition to my room. I can now have everyone congregate in my room for study sessions, quick prayers, and scrumptious meals. Oh, and of course cards and movie-watching on the weekends.

I also had the wonderful pleasure of “baby-sitting” one of my classmate’s children. It was a joined effort between the four of us, and I must say we did very well. The kids are absolutely amazing, and much better behaved than I could ever claim as a child. (sorry mom and dad!) We made pizza, they played video games for a bit, and then we congregated in the living room to play Clue. The four of us older kids, however, had never played the DVD version, so it took a while before we got the hang of it. The kids were great with teaching us and extremely patient with our lack of knowledge. I suddenly felt very old in that living room when I realized these kids knew so much more about this new age of games than I probably ever will.

Other than the fun mentioned above, I have only one more subject to discuss. FOOD! After taking our exams on Friday and finding out our scores (we all did great) we decided to treat ourselves to a meal off campus. We couldn’t decide between breakfast or Greek until I mentioned that I had never eaten Greek before. Breakfast, however, I am well acquainted with. With that in mind, we quickly made our way to The Athenian Grill. The place was very cool, and the food was amazing. I can’t believe I’ve gone my whole life without having a gyro before! Being the poor students that we are, we split an appetizer and desert between the four of us. I know I had plenty to eat, and I sincerely doubt that anyone was hungry after that.

My only concern now is that with all this delicious food, both purchased and provided free of charge, I have to be extra vigilant in my efforts to lose weight. I feel great and believe I have managed to progress further in my goals, but am unable to verify until I can find an affordable scale to purchase. Who knew something that did something so simple could be so expensive?

Until the next time, I would like to share a tidbit of advice I once saw in a trinket shop up north. “you can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses”

Rejoice with me in the good things in life. Lean on Jesus when the thorns surround you, and make sure to take some time to stop and smell the roses!

God Bless!

 

Leave a Reply

