Explore my Journey with me!

Quick Update!

Hello again!

first off, let me just warn you that this post will be short and (hopefully) sweet. I am in mid-translation, but I wanted to share some exciting news with you all. I am still having a blast here and hope that all is well with everyone at home. Also, welcome to any new readers (don’t forget to subscribe and comment) and thank you to all the repeat readers out there.

First off, I must say that Participles are going to be a major pain in the tush! I still have hope that an understanding will suddenly hit me and everything will finally make sense. I doubt it, but it can’t hurt to hope. On the positive side, we started translating directly from the Bible today, so that was indeed a wonderful experience. I will, however, need to acquire a larger lexicon (dictionary) for further translations.

If either of the pastors are reading this, I would like to share another success! They (you if the reader is Pastor A or Pastor B) wrote out Ephesians Chapter 1, verse 2 in the faith book I received during the going away/bon voyage party. For any other Greek afficionados out there, here’s the verse in Greek χάρις ὑμῖν καὶ εἰρήνη ἀπὸ θεοῦ πατρὸς ἡμῶν καὶ κυρίου Ἰησοῦ Χριστοῦ. As of last week (I don’t know why I didn’t share the revelation sooner) I was able to read and understand this verse! It reads (as best I can translate) “Grace to you and peace from God our father and Lord Jesus Christ.” Pretty cool, huh?

I am currently working on Mark 1:9-15 for class (which I should get back to now) and am excited to be able to finish this reading and start on another. One quick observation–Mark sure likes to say things happen IMMEDIATELY (or εὐθὺς in Greek). Well that’s all for now. Thanks for sharing this important step with me. I can’t wait until I can read Greek without having to parse half the words! Maybe some day!

As always, God Bless!

Comments on: "Quick Update!" (3)

  1. Carlyn Cooper said:

    Will pray that the Holy Spirit grant clarity and insight into your participles. Paul, I would have to go to my dictionary to see what one is. That part of English always went over my head.
    Jesus is sitting right there reading those participles with you.
    Shalom
    Carlyn

    • Despite not knowing what participles are, you masterfully used two in that last sentence! They are the “ing” words. Also known as verbal adjectives. Great fun indeed. Thanks for the kind words of encouragement. Oh, and I have been taught what participles are four times now, so don’t feel bad that you don’t remember what they are. I probably won’t remember what they’re called within two weeks.

  2. Tami Groth said:

    Very exciting that you can read the greek inscription now!

Leave a Reply

