Explore my Journey with me!

Time

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to read my blog! I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. I would like to offer a special thanks to any new readers. I hope you enjoy what you see and come back for more!

The other day I tried watching a television show on Netflix.com. Unfortunately, the internet speed here (with all the students returning) is no longer fast enough for instant viewing. I tried it a couple more times without success and finally cancelled my subscription. Since then I’ve found other things to do in my spare time (what little there is of it) and I can honestly say I don’t miss watching the movies.

I realized I was just watching television to “pass the time.” It wasn’t something I really enjoyed doing anymore, but I kept at it because it had gotten into my routine and I was so used to it that I didn’t realize the change. That is, I didn’t realize it until I changed my routine. I can’t even honestly say how long this has been going on, but wonder now how different my life could have been had I used all that extra time (and money) on other things.

I’ve noticed a similar pattern with my phone as well. Back in De Pere, I used my phone constantly. I’d update and check up on my facebook account, text to friends and family, look up my schedule, even watch youtube clips with my phone. Rarely did I use the phone to actually make a phone call. Now that I’m three and a half hours away from home, back in school, and unable to make calls or answer my phone I find it difficult to check my phone for new messages. More often than not, the phone stays on my desk until the battery gets low and then it stays on the charger until I remember to check it again.

I’ve gone days now without really using Netflix or my phone now, and I haven’t really missed either of them. Yet when I missed chapel on Monday I felt horrible. I had missed out on something I was looking forward to. I DID notice that absence in my life, and I certainly don’t want to repeat it anytime soon. Chapel was important to me, the phone and Netflix were not.

This got me to thinking. Are there other things in my life that I’m just doing because I’ve done them for so long? And what could I be doing instead of those time-passing, mind-numbing activities? Are there things in your life like this? Do you go through the motions and not really gain any sort of pleasure or feeling of accomplishment from it? My guess is that there are things in everyone’s life that he or she can say isn’t really important. So why do we keep doing them? So we don’t have to change our routine?

I can’t help but think of a quote I heard (and used) quite often while working at Festival. “You’re either green and growing, or ripe and rotting.” What a concept! Are we ripe and rotting? Are our lives being wasted – our time being wasted – on things that don’t really matter to us? Why let this continue? There are so many wonderful things we can do with our lives, and yet it seems the instinctive response these days is “I don’t have enough time.” How amazing would it be to regain that time by eliminating things from our life that aren’t even important to us anyways?

I hope to share more revelations on this subject, and I look forward to responses by others who have found similar time wasters in their lives. Please, comment on this post and let me know! I’d also love to hear what others are planning to do with that “extra time” that they have reclaimed!

As always, God Bless!

Comments on: "Time" (3)

  1. Amy LaPierre said:

    Paul,
    You should save this post….it will be a great sermon someday. Thoughtful and well-written!
    Amy

  2. Carlyn Cooper said:

    Hi Paul, what a wonderful thought provoking blog. I had a similar experience years ago. I always watched the early morning news with my cup of hot coffee. Lent arrived and I gave that up and inserted Bible time and devotions. I love that early morning time with the Lord and do not like it if I miss it. I think, I can do it later, but later doesn’t always materalize. As and ‘older’ person, the phone business bothers me. We want to be in contact with people, but not face to face with good conversation. That is not the way the Lord made us. We are a relational people. I had to tell my grand daughter, either the phone was in her purse or mine during Grandpa’s funeral. To me that is not good. Take care my friend.
    Shalom
    Carlyn

    • I must agree with your comments concerning the phone usage today. I would much rather talk to someone in person than through the phone. that’s why I love Skype for the family. I can actually SEE the people I’m talking to and they can see me. I remember when I first started working at Festival, especially on Sundays, there was usually several “reunions” in the aisles. People would stand and chat for hours sometimes and after they departed they had big smiles on their faces. The last couple of years that changed. Everyone’s so focused on their phones or getting out of the store on time that they don’t take the time to chat.
      I’m still a bit shocked at your experience at the funeral. It’s sad to think that, as a Pastor, I might have to ask that all devices be put away before proceeding with any service. Phones have their uses, but I wonder how much better the world would be if more people “unplugged” more often.

Leave a Reply

