Explore my Journey with me!

Nearing the last days

Hey there everyone! Welcome to any new readers that have decided to peek at this blog. I hope you enjoy what you read. Welcome back to any repeat visitors/dedicated subscribers. I hope you enjoy what you read as well. As always, please feel free to comment on this and any other blog posts. You are, of course, welcome to subscribe to my blog as well so you will be notified of any new posts when they occur. Believe me, they aren’t going to stop me from talking!

I can hardly believe there are only two days left of Summer Greek! Where did all the time go? Where did the summer go? Where has my brain gone in this craziness that is Greek? I think it’s hiding under the bed somewhere, shivering in fear that more Greek words will be forced into it. I’ve rammed so many things into my poor brain over these past five weeks it’s a wonder it’s able to retain anything. I must say as my comprehension of Greek grammar increases, so does my comprehension of English grammar. However as my Greek vocabulary increases, I think my English vocab decreases! It’s getting harder to speak in English because there are so many other things shifting around up there.

Yet I have made it this far (with all As as well) and haven’t collapsed from the strain. I’m hoping these last two days don’t do me in (Vocab due one day, Exam due the next) but I can’t be sure. I came really close to breaking down one day and needed a fortifying “good luck hug” from my neighbor, Tammy. I’m actually feeling pretty good about these vocab words and plan on reviewing them a bit now, a bit before chapel, once again after chapel and then finally take the quiz. Tomorrow we have a half day before she hands us the final Exam (which thankfully isn’t worth any more than the other exams) and then once those are completed we are FREE FROM GREEK!!! Well, at least until Exegetical Greek begins on the 12th. We’ll see how it all goes, and you can be sure that you’ll hear about it on here once I find out the news myself.

On another note, I am extremely excited for Wednesday to get here because I will be going through my Library Orientation (We are going to ROCK that library!) and then my lovely mother (the biological one, not the Seminary one) and my Aunt Lynn will be visiting with me for a couple of days. I can’t wait for them to get here so I can introduce them to all the lovely people here and so everyone here can get to know these lovely ladies who were so important to me in my youth and continue to be important to me now.

Hopefully the experience won’t shock them too much (I don’t think Aunt Lynn’s ever seen me with a beard) and they’ll be able to have a fun time while visiting. They have managed to survive the last 23 years with me, so I think they can handle another two days or so. I’m sure we’ll have all sorts of fun time here, and it’ll be nice for at least some of my family to better know the loving people I am surrounded by here in Dubuque.

Speaking of the amazing people here, I would ask that everyone who is reading this would pray, send good thoughts, or support in whatever way you believe, the grandpa of my friend Deb. His name is Bill Cote and he suffered a heart attack last week. He was transported to the hospital quickly, and it sounds hopeful, but any extra help would be appreciated. I would also ask that you pray for Deb to have safe travels as she returns home to visit her grandfather and other family members this Wednesday. We are all hoping that the news will be good and that Deb’s time back home will be a joyous celebration before returning to her friends here in Dubuque.

That’s all I have for now, and I really need to get working on my translations (Mark 4:1-9, The Parable of the Sower) so I hope you will pardon me as I get back to my studies. If you would like to read the parable in English, you can click here or if you’re into a challenge, feel free to try translating it from here.

As Always, God Bless!

Leave a Reply

