Explore my Journey with me!

Hey everybody! Thanks for stopping in and seeing what’s new!

 

I have been meaning to share something with you all for a while, but I haven’t really gotten around to doing it. Well that stops today. One day, about two years ago, I was surfing through the internet when I stumbled upon a website that has really inspired me and given me ideas for how I can show appreciation and love to others. The site is HelpOthers.org go ahead and click on the link to be brought to the website.

It’s a really great website because it shares inspiring stories about people helping other people. They also have a wonderful program with Smile Cards that you can give out to others when you do a random act of kindness. These things are amazing! I just put in an order for some to be mailed to me, and I can’t wait to use them! Oh, and if you sign up with the website and post comments, ideas and whatnot, you can get Karma points which you can then use to get cool stuff (like smile cards).

I am going to warn you about this website. Do not, I repeat, DO NOT try to read just one story. It can’t be done. After you read one you want to read them all, and there are a LOT of stories on there. So carve out a good hour or two, find a couple spare boxes of tissues, lock the door, and be prepared to be moved and inspired!

Another really cool website, that my brother got me hooked on is Post Secret. Every day, hundreds of people all over the world send postcards with their secrets to Frank Warren and he puts several of them on the website each week to share the secrets. No one knows who sent the secrets, but the sender and the readers get something out of it because they are sharing each others secrets. This is definitely another website that will probably make you cry. Some of the secrets are really heart breaking.

But they can also be so amazingly supportive. In one of his “Post Secret Live” Events that I was able to attend, Frank shared a wonderful story with the audience. He said that one day someone sent a postcard with a picture on it of a door with a huge hole punched through with the story that the door had been punched in when a mother had tried to continue beating the sender of the postcard. Minutes after being posted on the website, Frank’s e-mail was flooded with hundreds of similar stories and photos. Because that person was brave enough to share that secret, hundreds of others suddenly knew that they were not alone.

I’m actually crying my eyes out just remembering that story. Frank and some of his associates offer several of these events each year all across the nation, so if you’re able to make it to one of them, I highly recommend it. The stories will touch you, and knowing that others are going through the same problems will help you to come to terms with your own secrets. It may even compel you to share one.

Finally, I want to share with you a commercial that one of my professors shared with us here. It’s a truly amazing piece, and I agree with her that it’ll have you guessing what it’s about until the end. You can find it here.

That’s all I have to share right now. Please enjoy the websites and commercial. And please, I BEG OF YOU! If you have any great websites, movies, or whatever that you think I, or others reading this might like, PLEASE share them in the comments, facebook message me them, or e-mail them to me at Paul.Johnson1@snc.edu

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

