Explore my Journey with me!

Goals and more updates

Hey there!

Last night I read an absolutely amazing blog update from my friend Kelly found here. In her blog post, she started a list of things she wanted to accomplish in the next month. I thought it was really cool, so I figured I would make a list as well. Here’s the initial list I compiled last night in my sleep-deprived response.

1. Lose Weight

2. Take a close look at finances and spending

3. EXERCISE!!! (I really need to get better at this, even if it’s just taking more walks or continuing my feeble attempt at sit-ups.

4. Study my brains out (okay, maybe not literally, but it’s going to be intense.)

5. Build up my self-confidence

6. Sing. Loudly.

7. Sleep ;-)

After thoughtful reflection and pondering of my eyelids for a couple hours ( I went to bed around 11 and got up at 4:30) I knew there were a couple more things I wanted to add to the list. So here’s the continuation of that list.

8. Grow more plants- I really love plants and feel that in a sense tending for them calms me. It also makes me responsible for something in a very low-maintenance sort of way. Since I got money from Christmas and birthday from the family (too much, if you ask me) I figured I would go ahead and buy a couple pots and some soil and see if I can grow some more “stuff.” First on my list is going to be a jade plant. There’s one in the hallway and I really want to take it as my own, but I don’t want someone to come knocking at my door looking for their long lost plant, so I’m just going to take a leaf or two and plant from that. I’ll have to upload photos at a later date of all my beautiful plants!

9. Write a hand-written letter and mail it- I have a couple people in mind, but I’d also love to send a letter to you if you’d like. You can e-mail me at pjohnson@wartburgseminary.edu or message me on Facebook and I’ll do my best to write to you. Just keep in mind that I’m also busy with classes and writing thank yous and letters to other people, so don’t feel hurt if I don’t send one right away!

10. Honor the Sabbath- I’m going to go with the whole sundown on Friday to sundown on Saturday as best as I’m able, but I really need to take that time for my relationship with God. Despite all the reading I’ll still be doing, (or else I’d suffer in my classes) I definitely need to set aside some time to just explore my identity as a Christian and work to strengthen my faith.

11. Get outside more! – I realize that with this being the middle of winter right now this might be a strange goal, but with the ability to go to and from classes without ever stepping outside, I really need to reconnect with the natural beauty of the land. That, and I could always use some fresh air!

12. Pray more often – this includes some silent prayers and prayers of thanksgiving. I feel a bit guilty that I’m constantly bombarding God with requests, so I want to work on some healthy alternatives.

13. Make a stranger a friend- No, this doesn’t mean I’ll be walking the streets at night or creeping around questionable places. Calm down, I’m  not completely insane. I just keep thinking about what Abuna Chacour said to us while in Israel. He said something along the lines of “You Americans can go all the way to the moon, but you can’t knock on your neighbor’s door.” This really struck me, and it hurt to admit that he’s right. I don’t really know the people living by us that aren’t in the “Wartburg Community” I want to change this, and now’s as good a time as any.

14. take my bike out for a ride- again, the winter is on, but that poor bike is accumulating dust and feeling lonely. The roads are clear of ice patches, so it would be safe, and I’ll wear my hat and gloves. Promise.

15. Tell them I love them- Family, friends, you all. I don’t say it often enough, and I need to change that. I love you.After my first day in the Loss and Grief class, I felt horrible because I couldn’t remember the last time I had said I love you to my Grandmother. She’s the only grandparent I have left, and despite the fact that she too has a hard time saying it (apparently most of the family can’t remember her ever saying it), I just had to tell her while I still had the chance. It felt great and made me want to do it again.

16. Thank others – this is always a good idea. It also brings me to my second goal of this post. I received a two cards in the mail today. I don’t want to out anyone, but I know they both read this blog. And so, I just wanted to say thank you. It meant so much to me that I had those cards (and a letter as well) today. I was feeling a bit rough from lack of sleep and coursework overload and it totally brightened my day and gave me a renewed burst of energy. Your words are very dear to me, and I’ll be sure to keep them in mind. Each piece of personal mail means so much to me (and will eventually make it into my memory binder) and reminds me of why I am here doing what I’m doing.

Finally, as #16 made clear,

17. Get (and stay) organized! – Along with organizing my binder, I also need to clean out my desk and closet. As I continue to lose weight, I’ll also have to work on culling out the clothes that just don’t fit well anymore (for all the right reasons!) so organization will go a long way.

That is all for now. I hope to be able to have more updates soon, and will try to remember to comment on what progress I made by the end of the month. Oh, and one little update right now! Since posting my last blog post on the 4th, I have lost another pound and have already noticed a difference in my energy. Thanks for all the prayers and support. Keep them coming!

God Bless!

Comments on: "Goals and more updates" (6)

  1. YAY!!! This makes me so happy! Keep up the good work, and I wish I was still there to cheer you on in person.

    Olive Juice! 🙂

  2. sweetopiagirl said:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  3. […] View Full Story This entry was posted in Fitness, Weight Loss and tagged fitness, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink. ← Fructose, Hunger, and Inactivity – Leptin and Insulin […]

  4. Amy LaPierre said:

    LOVE this….I might just start thinking about my own list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

