Explore my Journey with me!

Easter Anticipation

I can’t wait for Easter! It seems like an eternity still before I’ll be able to return home and visit with friends and family, go to church at St. John’s, scratch the dog, walk the streets of De Pere and who knows what else! Hopefully Wednesday morning (which, since I’m working the previous night, probably means around 10 am) I’ll be hitting the road to come back home.Yet even though it’s less than a week from now (four days and counting) I have so much to get done between then and now:

Psalmody/Hymnody assignment for Foundations of Christian Worship

read several chapters for Ages of Faith and Reformation

Read Luther’s Treatise “On Christian Liberty”

write a paper concerning “OCL”

Check out books for Systematic Theology (and hopefully read them as well)

water the plants, maybe find someone to water them while I’m gone as well

pack my clothes and essentials

Work the closing shift at the Library Tuesday

Clean my room…

 

The list keeps going and going, and all the while I keep counting down the days and wonder how I’m ever going to get everything done in time. I am excited to leave, and I’m sure once the time comes I’ll be ready, but until then I can’t help but worry that I’m missing something.

In a strange way, it makes me wonder how the disciples must’ve felt going along with Jesus on the way to Jerusalem nearly 2000 years ago. I’m sure they had things on their minds, and there’s little doubt in my mind that they had no clue what was coming. Still, they followed Jesus and trusted in him. Every once in a while Jesus had to chastise them, or nudge them back on the right track, but even though they didn’t understand, they followed. I guess that’s what this journey will be like for me. Both the journey through seminary and the shorter one of just these next few days.

I have no clue how things are going to happen, or what each new day will bring, but I have to give up those worries and focus on just following Jesus.I don’t have to have all the answers, and when I don’t get it, it’s okay to ask for help, for guidance, for a helping hand. When the worries of the days darken the horizon, I have to remember to seek out the Light of the World.

Blessings on your Lenten Journey!

 

On another note, I was hoping you could help me out by answering a quick poll below. I’m just wondering how often you’d like to hear updates from me, and I figured this would be the easiest way to do so. Whether you’ve read every post I’ve written, or this is the first time tuning in, please take a moment and vote. Thanks, and God Bless!

Comments on: "Easter Anticipation" (4)

  1. RICK Johnson said:

    it should not matter what others want from you. You should write when you have the time or have the urge. Dad

  2. Pastor Andrea said:

    Paul, I think you should write every day. Ha ha! Just kidding! I agree with your Dad – write when you are inspired! PA

    • Haha, very funny! I’d love to have the time, inspiration and dedication to update each day. But I don’t think those homework assignments are going to write themselves. Thanks for commenting, Pastor!

Leave a Reply

