Explore my Journey with me!

CPE, flying by!

Wow, I can’t believe it has already been two and a half weeks since I started CPE! The experience has been a truly influential one, and I’m definitely looking forward to the next two months of work with this program. I have learned so much about myself, about interacting with others, and about the wonderful chaplains, nurses, case-managers, staff, and patients at the hospital! The group of chaplain interns which I am a part of has been such a tremendous group of individuals that have helped me in so many ways already. I can’t even begin to imagine what lies ahead for us as a group.

This week is our first real week of chaplain/patient interaction and I must say things are, to borrow a Winstonian phrase, “moving along smartly.” I have met with quite a few patients, have been asked back by some (which I take as a good sign) and have even completed an Advance Directive with a patient. Basically an Advance Directive is like a living will and power of attorney all rolled into one to make a stronger, more impactful legal document. For those of you reading this that haven’t completed one of these documents, I would highly suggest you do so. I plan on completing one when I return home next. Anyone age eighteen and above should seriously consider filling out an Advance Directive to avoid medical snafus if one becomes hospitalized and is not able to make decisions for him or herself.

I only WISH regular were only $1.72/gal!

On another note, I must send out a HUGE thank you to those of you who have sent financial assistance, prayed, called etc. I appreciate all that you do and can only express a very humble and heartfelt thank you! The gas card for one will be an enormous help with the daily commute back and forth from Dubuque, Iowa to Rock Island, Illinois. Not sure if you would want to be named, but you know who you are!

Unfortunately it is approaching my bedtime, but I would like to wish you all a pleasant night, a productive and fulfilling week, and a rejuvenating weekend. To each and every one of you,

GOD BLESS!

 

Leave a Reply

