Explore my Journey with me!

Trying to stay ahead…

Hello Everyone!

The last year of seminary is finally here! My reaction to this reality is…mixed. I’m excited to be going out into the world and actually live out my vocation every day, but at the same time there’s so much left to learn! I realize this is going to be an ongoing problem, as I’ll never manage to learn everything there is to know about ministry. I only hope I know enough to serve God and those God entrusts to me.

So far this semester, being only a few weeks into the semester, I’ve managed to stay ahead of the assignments and get all the required reading done. As of last night, I had all my homework for Monday completed, and hope to have Tuesday’s homework finished by tonight. Maybe even Wednesday’s homework as well. This, you might think, is fantastic news! I’ve been in school two full weeks already and am still two days ahead of schedule. Which, yes, it is good. But I’m hoping it’s also manageable.

I’ve heard from some of my classmates/friends that they never see me anymore outside of work, classes and worship. Technically, this isn’t true, but I understand what they mean. I haven’t spent as much social time as I have in past years out with everyone. Part of me thinks this is a good thing, that I’m more focused on my studies and don’t feel the need to cling to others all the time. Maybe I’m just different this year. Who knows? I guess only time will tell.

As I look forward to this next week, I see that, once again, my schedule is filled with extra things to attend to. All good things, but still. There’s meetings with Bishops, Castle Companion training, more work study (up to nearly 10hrs a week, YAY!) confirmation, and a few fun things as well. Like I said, all good things, and I’m excited about each and every one of them. Then there’s worship back home on Sunday, to say farewell to the pastors. It will be hard not having that spiritual support and guidance that I’ve grown to depend on over the past years.

Still, I know there’s more to life than homework (at least in theory) so I’m sure this year will be an educational, formational, and inspirational year! I would ask that you keep me in your prayers this week and into the future. I’m going to need as much help as I can get to stay focused and energized for all that lies before me! Please know that I’m praying for you as well, and always welcome prayer requests. Send me a message, facebook me, e-mail me, call or text me… whatever. Just don’t send a smoke signal or telegram. I have a really hard time deciphering them 😉

Peace in Christ,

Paul Andrew JohnSon

Comments on: "Trying to stay ahead…" (2)

  1. Hi Paul, rely on the strength,power and presence within and you will get it all done. Shalom my friend, Carlyn

    • Thanks Carlyn! It was a very productive evening. Not only did I get more work done, but I managed to clean my room and organize my schedule to prioritize. God is good!

Leave a Reply

